24
Apr
11

Charlotte Ellis of Gloucestershire wins the Helen Holm

England international Charlotte Ellis staged a sensational smash-and-grab charge over the last few holes to win the Helen Holm Scottish women’s open amateur stroke-play championship over the Royal Troon Golf’s Open championship links today.
Trailing Leona Maguire, one half of the 16-year-old talented twins from Co Cavan, Ireland, by three strokes with six holes to play, the 25-year-old former English mid-amateur champion from Minchinhampton birdied the 13th, 15th and 16th holes to be one shot behind Maguire with two to play.
Both parred the short 17th and then tragically Leona, who had made all the running from the start of the 54-hole tournament, ran up a double bogey 6 at the last, taking three shots to get on the green and a further three putts from six feet.
That left the door open for a two-shot swing at the home hole. Ellis had a cast-iron par-4.
Maguire finished with a 73 for 11 under par 214 – one shot behind Ellis who signed off with a 71 for 213.
“I’m speechless,” said Charlotte. “I had no thoughts of catching Leona, even though I was only one shot behind her at the start of the last round. When I bogeyed the ninth, I was only really playing for second or third place and, giving it a go instead of holding back, I started to birdie holes.
“Even when I holed out for a par on the last green, I really didn’t think it was to win the Helen Holm. It was only when Leona eventually missed a 2ft second putt, that I realised I had won.
“It’s the biggest golf title I’ve ever won but I have to feel sorry for Leona.”
Charlotte hopes she won’t be able to defend the title at Troon next April – “I’m going back to the Tour School later in the season. I failed to get my card last year but I’m not letting that put me off. So I hope to be a tour pro by this time next year although it would have been nice to defend the Helen Holm.
“It was third time very lucky for me. I finished fifth on my debut two years ago and tenth when I came to Troon last year.”
It was not much consolation for Leona Maguire, who was the Helen Holm winner two years ago and won the Portuguese title in January, to win the Under-18s trophy.
0 Responses to “Charlotte Ellis of Gloucestershire wins the Helen Holm”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar    
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Flickr Photos


